Nip Impressions logo
Sat, Apr 13, 2024 08:30
Click here for Pulp & Paper Radio International
Subscription Central
Must reads for pulp and paper industry professionals
My Profile
Management Side

USDA elects new members to Softwood Lumber Board

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of four members to serve on the Softwood Lumber Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms, effective immediately, through Dec. 31, 2025.

The newly appointed members are:

  • Jim D. Neiman, Hulett, Wyoming (U.S. West, Small Seat)
  • Timothy Biewer, St. Clair, Michigan (U.S. Northeast & Lake States, Flex Seat)
  • Richard K Stanley, Brewton, Alabama (U.S. South, Small Seat)
  • Ray Ferris, Vancouver, British Columbia (Importer, Canada West, Large Seat)

The Softwood Lumber Board has 14 members, including 10 domestic manufacturers and four importers. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

On January 1, 2023, current Director Brian Luoma began his two-year term as Board Chair, taking over from outgoing Board Chair Caroline Dauzat.

Mr. Stanley is the President and CEO of Brewton, Alabama-based T.R. Miller Mill Company; he starts his first term on the Board representing the U.S. South. He comes to the SLB as a veteran leader in several other industry associations--including serving as the First Vice Chairman of the American Wood Council Board of Directors. He is also a member of the Southeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association and has already been active in the SLB, recently serving as a non-board member on its Industry Relations and Governance Committee.

Mr. Nieman is the President and CEO of Hulett, Wyoming-based Nieman Enterprises and affiliated companies. He currently serves as Treasurer of the Executive Committee for the SLB's Board of Directors and as Chair of the Finance Committee. This marks the start of his second term on the Board, representing the U.S. West.

Mr. Biewer is the Owner and President of St. Clair, Michigan-based Biewer Lumber. He currently serves on the SLB's Industry Relations and Governance Committee. This will be his second term on the Board, representing the U.S. Northeast and Lake States.

Mr. Ferris is the President and CEO of Vancouver, British Columbia-based West Fraser. He currently serves as the First Vice Chair of the SLB's Executive Committee and Ex-Officio of the Finance and Industry Relations and Governance Committees. This will be his second term on the Board, representing Canada West.

Mr. Luoma is President and CEO of The Westervelt Company. Prior to joining Westervelt in 2017, he worked with Louisiana Pacific for 29 years. Over his career, he has been active in several industry organizations, including the American Wood Council and the National Alliance of Forest Owners. He currently represents the U.S. South region on the SLB Board of Directors and has most recently served as the Second Vice Chair of the SLB's Executive Committee and Chair of the SLB's Programs Committee.


 Related Articles:


Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: